N. Reading Reads

NBeautifulRuins_small-330orth Reading Reads  2014  Beautiful Ruins

We will be reading Beautiful Ruins, a novel by Jess Walter.  It begins in 1962 on the coast of Italy.  It’s  funny, wildly romantic, thought-provoking, soon to be a motion picture.

 

After you read Beautiful Ruins, if you enjoyed it, you might want to try  one of these readalikes:  The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer, Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures by Emma Straub,  The Love of My Youth by Mary Gordon, A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan,  Where’d You go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple,  Dog Stars by Peter Heller, Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami, Furious Love by Sam Kashner

Jess_photo-210

 

 

Jess Walter has written six novels, a book of short stories and a work of non-fiction.  His books have been translated into many languages. He lives with his family in Spokane, Washington.

Exhibit: Drawings by North Reading Middle School students

Events:
Book Discussions:
Wednesday, February 26, 10AM, with North Reading Book Discussion Club and   Tuesday, March 4, 7PM, with Evening Book Group

The Cooking Librarian: Thursday, March 13, 7PM,  “Pasta and Conversation” with  Jaclyn Strycharz.  She will present a cooking demonstration and discuss some  of her favorite cookbooks.

Books Into TV Movies: Thursday, March 27, 7PM. Fred Barzyk, President of Creative Television Associates, Inc., will talk about two TV movie he directed, based on books: The Lathe of Heaven, by Ursula LeGuin and several Kurt Vonnegut books excerpted into his film, Between Time and Timbuktu. Mr. Barzyk has produced and directed television programs for PBS, HBO, NBC, ABC, and CBS. He was awarded Venice Film Award for best Television Director Worldwide for his HBO drama, Countdown to Looking Glass.  Other awards include two ACE awards, three national Emmy’s and a Peabody Award.

Traveling to Italy, Tuesday, April 22, 7PM.  David and Nancy Dillon will give a presentation about their  travels in Cinque Terra, Florence, Rome, and Orvietto.  The Dillons are schoolteachers who travel often to Europe in the summer.

Thank you to the Friends for sponsoring North Reading Reads 2014.

 

WHAT IS NORTH READING READS?

photo credit: Ross Sharp

A town-wide book discussion.

The goals are to:

  • Promote reading across all age groups
  • Promote the use of the Flint Memorial Library and the North
    Reading Public School Libraries
  • Promote community discussion by sharing responses to one book
  • Provide a new area of discussion for old and new friends

Where did it all start?

Washington’s
Center for the Book

Are other towns participating in a similar program?

Yes.  Here’s what they’re reading.

Here is the Massachusetts Center for the Book.

“It’s a simple thing, this coming together around books…Communities sharing a book can crack the isolation of technology that allows people to do almost everything without seeing another human being. The invitation to read gives a person permission to clear space on the jammed schedule for reconnecting with the joy of story hour. What if the whole country read one book? How about the world? Think about it.”

The Boston Globe, 3/1/05

 

Past Years

North Reading Reads 2013
North Reading Reads 2012
North Reading Reads 2011
North Reading Reads 2010
North Reading Reads 2009
North Reading Reads 2008
North Reading Reads 2007
North Reading Reads 2006
North Reading Reads 2005
North Reading Reads 2003

New layer…
New layer…
New layer…